The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice

Happy Halloween Readers,

I picked The Vampire Chronicles for vampire week as I think  Lestat would love a whole blog post about him.

The Vampire Chronicles series contains 12 books two of which have been made into films and there are rumours of a tv series.

The series of books revolves around the fictional character Lestat de Lioncourt and his pre-vampire days in eighteenth-century rural France to his vampire life in nineteenth-century New Orleans to his adventures in the United States during the twentieth century. Lestat wants to know how vampires were created, mourns the loss of his mortal life, and explores the existence of good and evil.

Anne Rice’s vampires are created by being drained of blood to the point of death, then allowed to save themselves by drinking, in turn, the blood of the vampire who made them. They did not fear garlic, crucifixes, holy water, or silver and wooden stakes are only a danger if the sun comes up while they were struggling to get free.

Lestat embodies an aristocratic vampire in 18th century Paris. A bold, enthusiastic and defiant being, who delights in his own arrogance and conceited attitude, Lestat carries himself with the aura of richness and entitlement. Lestat stands at six feet, with thick rather curly blonde hair, green eyes a nose is fairly short and narrow, while his mouth is well shaped and his skin deathly white. Lestat’s egotistic qualities and concerns with fashion are shown through the series he will pause mid-narrative merely to remind the reader what he is wearing. However, underneath this fa├žade, he is a tortured soul scarred by the turmoil and betrayal of his past.

Lestat has been played by Tom Cruise (Interview with the Vampire) and Stuart Townsend (The Queen of the Damned) for a while I preferred the Queen of the Damned film version of Lestat but then I watched Rock of ages and now Stacee Jaxx is Queen of the Damned Lestat.

Books in the series (I’ve only read up to Blood Canticle)
Interview with the Vampire (1976)
The Vampire Lestat (1985)
The Queen of the Damned (1988)
The Tale of the Body Thief (1992)
Memnoch the Devil (1995)
The Vampire Armand (1998)
Merrick (2000)
Blood and Gold (2001)
Blackwood Farm (2002)
Blood Canticle (2003)
Prince Lestat (2014)
Prince Lestat and the Realms of Atlantis (2016)

L x