Wednesday, 6 June 2018

YALC books part three


Hello Readers,

Continuing on the previous Wednesdays theme I’m going to show you the last four books I’m taking to YALC this year in hope of getting to meet the author and hopefully the chance to get them signed. The four books today are The Sin Eaters Daughter by Melinda Salisbury, Unboxed by Non Pratt, Truth or Dare by Non Pratt and Eve of Man by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher.  Another repeat from last week most of the book are on my to read or reread pile so I can review them on here, so instead of a stupidly long post I’m going to upload a picture and little synopsis.


The Sin Eaters Daughter by Melinda Salisbury 
I have been fortunate enough to meet Melinda every year I have been at YALC and she’s also YALC Slytherin house deputy captain (House Pride) so I might be bias but I love this book. I did have a little accident with my first copy (it got knocked in the bath) so I have a nice new one to take to YALC this year.

Synopsis
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she's engaged to the prince, Twylla isn't exactly a member of the court. As the Goddess embodied, Twylla instantly kills anyone she touches. Each month she's taken to the prison and forced to lay her hands on those accused of treason. No one will ever love a girl with murder in her veins. Even the prince, whose royal blood supposedly makes him immune to Twylla's fatal touch, avoids her company. But then a new guard arrives, a boy whose easy smile belies his deadly swordsmanship. And unlike the others, he's able to look past Twylla's executioner robes and see the girl, not the Goddess. Yet Twylla's been promised to the prince and knows what happens to people who cross the queen.

Unboxed by Non Pratt 
I have two Non Pratt books because I love unboxed (it will pull at your heart stings) and I’m yet to read Truth or Dare but it was one of the book promoted last year and it sounds amazing so I picked it up.

Synopsis
Four friends meet up at their old school to open the memory box they stowed there years ago - with five letters inside for four of them, because their friend Millie has died. When they open the box they find a new letter from Millie and discover that she has left them special instructions: permission to open her letter only if they all read aloud the letters they wrote to their older selves, revealing their deepest secrets.






Truth or Dare by Non Pratt 
I also think Non deserves to be mentioned twice because she did shave her head last year at YALC to raise money for the Royal Hospital of Neurodisability just as Benedict Cumberbatch walked in. Non had conducted extensive research at the facility during her research for the book Truth or Dare which features a character with a traumatic brain injury

Synopsis
A powerful and touching novel about bravery from the Guardian's "writer to watch" Non Pratt, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and Holly Bourne. How far is too far when it comes to the people you love? Claire Casey hates being the centre of attention. But if it means getting Sef Malik to notice her, it's a risk she's happy to take. Sef is prepared to do anything to help his recently disabled brother. But this means putting Claire's love - and life - on the line. Because when you're willing to risk everything, what is there left to lose?

Eve of Man by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher
I am honestly so in love with the concept behind this book and I am really looking forward to reading it.

Synopsis
Against all odds, she survived. The first girl born in fifty years. They called her Eve.
All her life Eve has been kept away from the opposite sex. Kept from the truth of her past. But at sixteen it's time for Eve to face her destiny. Three potential males have been selected for her. The future of humanity is in her hands. She's always accepted her fate.
Until she meets Bram. Eve wants control over her life. She wants freedom. But how do you choose between love and the future of the human race? Described by Giovanna and Tom as an unconventional love story set in a dystopian future - do you embrace your fate - or do you run from it?


·         The Hazelwood by Melissa Albert 
·         The Fandom by Anna Day 
·         The Surface Breaks by Louise O'Neill 

·         The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven
·         Clean by Juno Dawson
·         Things a Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls

No comments:

Post a Comment